MYOG Heine Cook Pot & Stove System

UL (ultralight) gear doesn’t always require you to shell out large amounts of money. While true UL items such as packs and shelters can be quite expensive, there are quite a few items that can be made which are very inexpensive. And a kitchen set-up is one of them. Of course, the most UL kitchen is the non-existent one, but for those that like to have a hot meal (or drink), even if it is only every now-and-then, can still go quite light for a very little amount of money, and just a little bit of time.

I have a few different kitchen set-ups as it is, but I have recently decided to add another one to my system. The Heineken cook pots are actually quite popular among the backpacking crowds, and up until I realized that the classic mini-keg style cans are now out of production I have not really taken any interest in them. But for some reason, now that I realize that they are somewhat of a rarity, I have now decided that I want to make a cook pot out of one…

So, I went and searched, and searched, and searched, and finally found one (that’s 1) 24 oz Heineken Mini-Keg can. I then went and picked up a side-opening can opener and a can of Fancy Feast cat food. I was not really sure about the entire set-up that I wanted to build, I just knew that I wanted to use an open flame alcohol stove so that the flame would be directly under the small diameter Heine pot. The wind screen and pot stand design was still up in the air. So, I gathered up all of the items I thought I might need, and got started…

Since the Heine cans are so rare, I decided to start practicing cutting the tops off of Foster’s cans. These can be fond at any of the local gas stations for less than $2.00, and the cool thing is that these Foster’s can can also be used as cook pots, the same as the Heine pots. However, because of the design of the can, the Foster’s are not as strong as the Heineken cans. So, I grabbed the can opener and went to town on the Foster’s…

So, as you can see I had a little trouble getting the can opener to work properly. But I didn’t give up, I got another Foster’s and also decided to try a different style of a side-opening can opener to try as well.  However, after destroying a couple of Foster’s cans and almost a 12 pack of soda’s I decided to call it a night. But the one lone Heine pot still remained, untouched…and waiting.

In case you don’t know, the way these side-opening can openers work are quite neat. They actually score the lip at the top of the can rather than the actual can under the lip. This allows the lids to actually still fit inside the top of the can so they indeed make the perfect lid for the can. Also, with the way it scores and cuts the lid, it is not supposed to leave a sharp edge. Unfortunately since I have not yet removed the top off of a can in the way that these can openers are made to do, I cannot attest to this.

So, this morning, I was still afraid to use one of the can openers on the one and only Heine can. So, I decided to do it the old-fashioned way. I stacked up books until it was at the right height so that I could set a utility knife on top of the books and align the blade in the middle of the lip on the top lid of the can. Then I turned the can…and turned…and turned…and turned…and turned… After about an hour of turning, I was finally give-in. I decided to give the can opener one last shot. If it worked, it worked, if not, then I would just be without. And it worked!

So, at this point I decided to do another little video…

So, now I have my very own Heine cook pot and stove system. And it rings with that cool factor, you know the one…the one that says I built this myself (even if it is just cutting the top of a can off…) Oh, and the fact that it was very inexpensive. 🙂

Now, before I start talking about all the specs and such, I want to talk about the stove and pot stand a little bit. I mentioned above that I wanted a stove that would position the flame directly under the Heine pot. To start with, I am no stove expert, but the reason I say this is because in my mind, the more of the flame that is under the pot, rather than licking up around the pot, the more efficient the stove is at actually heating the water within the pot. Also, the faster the water gets heated, less fuel gets used, so to me, this seems to be more fuel-efficient. Of course this can also translate to mean a lighter pack, because the less fuel needed, the less fuel carried and the less amount of weight in my backpack!

So I decided to make a simple open flame alcohol stove. To make this, all I did was buy a can of Fancy Feast cat food, opened it and fed it to the cat, then washed the can out, removed the label, added some fuel and lit it up! So simple I would imagine just about anyone could do it. Again, in my mind, by doing this rather than putting holes in the side (such as the Supercat) the flame should be directed up rather than out, aiming the flame right at the bottom of the Heine pot. (I will say though that I will probably try to make a Chimney Alcohol Stove at some point just to try out with the Heine pot.)

When using an open flame alcohol stove the cook pot cannot sit directly on top of the stove, so a pot stand is needed. So, I grabbed some hardware cloth and began cutting and folding and shaping. At first I tried making a circle with the hardware cloth that was wide enough for the Heine pot to fit down into and tall enough to help hold the pot in place in case it accidentally got bumped. Then I simply inserted two of my Mountainfitter 7″ Ti-Eye stakes through the squares on one side of the hardware cloth and then through the other side, which provided the pot with a place to sit directly over (but not on) the stove. (This can be seen in video # 2.)

This worked fine, and the hardware cloth was pretty light, however, it was not very durable. After bending it back and forth a few times to store and then to use it, it would easily begin breaking. Plus , I still had to put a windscreen around the entire set-up.

That is when it hit me. The windscreen I will be using is actually a windscreen that I got when I ordered my White Box Stove. It is made of a thin, but very durable piece of aluminum.  So, I opened my windscreen and set it to the diameter that I wanted and then simply ran the stakes right through one side of the windscreen and then out the other side. By doing this, I managed to use my windscreen as not only my windscreen, but also as my pot stand! This means one item is doing double duty, which means less weight! The nice thing about this as well is that with the weight of the Heine pot sitting on the titanium stakes ran through the windscreen will also hold the windscreen down. This is nice because I have found it a little annoying when a breeze comes along and starts blowing the light-weight windscreen all around my stove and cook pot.

So, if I have managed to confuse you, I will try to fix it by embedding the last video I have made. In this video, I kind of show off each piece, make a comparison to another stove system in the same category and do another boil. Hope this helps clear up things…

So, without running on, I will wrap this post up with some listed specs.

  • Heine Pot with Beer Band: 1.2 oz (35 g) ~ Cost me $2.50. Already had the band.
  • Heine Lid: o.2 oz (7 g) ~ Came with the can.
  • Stove: 0.2 oz (5 g) ~ 3 oz can of Fancy Feast cost around $0.75.
  • Windscreen: 0.9 oz (25 g) ~ Already had, came with $20 White Box Stove Set.
  • 2 Paper Clips: 0.1 oz (3 g) ~ Practically free.
  • ZPacks Small Cuben Fiber Stuff Sack: 0.1 oz (4 g) ~ Already had, but cost $9.95
  • Mountainfitter 7″ Ti-Eye Stakes: included in my shelter weight. Cost $2 each.

So, that is a total of 2.7 oz, or 79 g for what could easily be my entire kitchen set-up, minus an eating utensil. And it actually only cost me $3.25 to buy the Heineken and the Fancy Feast cat food can. Granted for someone else to make this same set-up and use it the same way I do, they would still need to make the windscreen, so a little more money would need to be spent on some aluminum, however I have heard that some can be found in arts and crafts stores such as Hobby Lobby. Also, I already had the stuff sack, and $10 is not a bad price, but there are less expensive methods. Simply buy some cheap ripstop nylon at a local fabric shop (or Wal-Mart) and one can easily be sewn.

The last thing that I would like to mention is durability. This set-up is proven to be very light-weight, and quite inexpensive, but one thing it is not is bomb-proof! In the video I compared it to my 700 ml Backcountry.com Ti cook pot and my Gram Weenie Pro stove, and while the Heine set-up is only half the weight of the other, it is not as durable. This doesn’t mean it is not worthy, it simply means that more attention to care is to be carried out with this set up if you expect it to last. If the set-up is treated right, it should last a very long time, however, if a lack of care is taken and the set-up is say, stepped on, be prepared to probably need to buy another one. Also, care must be taken when this set-up is packed inside your pack as well. It can easily be squished inside there too. However, if this were to happen, it is nice to know that it can be replaced for around $5, or less! (And of course time…)

So, anyway, I will stop running my mouth, err…my fingers now and end this post. I appreciate you spending your time to read this and watch the videos. Also, one last thing I feel the need to mention…I have made a lot of references to the term UL in this post, but I am not claiming that I am an actual UL backpacker. I am more of a happy “light-weight” backpacker. I was just using that term to point out how light-weight this cooking system is.

Anyway, now that that is out of the way, if you have any comments, please be sure to leave them below and I will be sure to get back with you! Until then, here is a picture of the entire set-up in the stuff sack and ready to go!

~Stick~

About Stick

My blog is essentially a record of my hiking career. Through it, I, and others, can see how I have evolved from a heavy weight backpacker, to a smarter, more efficient, lightweight backpacker. Through the use of video, still photos, and of course writing, one can see my progression, as well as check out some of the places I hike, and not to mention some cool, lightweight gear options. For me, my blog is a journal, but for others, I hope that it is an interactive learning tool to aid them in their own progression towards lightweight backpacking.
This entry was posted in Cook Kits, Gear, Stoves and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to MYOG Heine Cook Pot & Stove System

  1. Andy says:

    Good post. I discovered Jim Woods’ Fire bucket which is also a windscreen and pot stand in one. Can also burn wood or fuel tab or alcohol stove. Anywho, you had a good idea there. I didn’t know Heine kegs are hard to find. Happy camping and thanks for the contribution to the DIY backpackers universe.

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Andy,

      I have seen those fire buckets online, but never in person. And yeah, Heine kegs are no where to be found now… at least not in the southeast US, and I would wager in any area of the US.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      ~Stick~

      Like

  2. Pingback: My UltraLight Cooking System | Stick's Blog

  3. Bryce says:

    Another way to go about a Heiny stove weighing in at 68g (alcohol mode) or 56g (solid fuel mode):
    http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=49519&skip_to_post=420364

    Differences w/ this setup:

    – Can use after shelter is setup or in shelter vestibule in bas weather (I always setup my shelter before cooking in case bad weather rolls in) as no tent stakes are needed.

    – I need a pot stand because I use sticks on the trail instead of stakes for my shelter.

    – Lighter alum foil for lid can be used to funnel water into a water bottle when water is scarce.

    -Tealight candle instead of cat food can. Lighter and one full tealight = one full boil for 1+ cups of water. No need for carrying measuring cup or worrying about quantities of fuel (There are larger tealights for winter camping and for boiling larger capacities).

    – No silicone beer band needed (Carry a bandana that doubles as pot holder and is multi use item).

    – Can use either alcohol or solid fuel for this setup (just put the weber lighter cube in the tea light).

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Bryce,

      Thanks for the article. Very nice.

      I have some tea light candles here and have thought about using them rather than the cat food can, just haven’t actually done it. Without a lot of thought, I just assumed that it would hold much fuel. But I will have to get one out and try it out…

      And I have shied away form solid fuels simply because of the soot that they produce. However, I would not mind trying it out with my Heine can. I will have to pick up some of the esbits and try them out. I will also keep an eye out for the others that you listed. I wonder if they would have the Coghlans at Wal Mart…

      I guess I will also have to break down and drop the top on the Heine and use foil.

      As for my pot support, I like having the 2 extra stakes for just in case I lose one or break one. Also, since they are extras, I can still use the set-up after I set-up my shelter. I have toyed with making some out of the hardware cloth but I liked the stakes better.

      I guess I could drop the silicone band too…

      Anyway, thanks for the great tips. While I was aware of them, I just haven’t pushed myself to actually try them out. Your post is helping me to convert… 🙂

      ~Stick~

      Like

    • Bryce says:

      The weber cubes are very cheap and readily available at Home Depot…but they don’t keep for weeks outside their original 24 pack. For weekend trips they are great/cheap/light. But longer than that, I have not tried it. The sucky part about solid fuels, is that for extended trips you need esbit which costs more…and the extended trips are where the weight savings over alcohol really show.

      Handling the soot is reasonable. I use a plastic bag from some rice cakes. It is decently durable and has the right diameter to hold the heiny. It adds minimal weight.

      Gotcha on the stakes, that makes sense for your setup.

      Thanks for the blog, I’m learning stuff too. 🙂

      Like

  4. Lynn says:

    What is the diameter of the stove and pot in this kit? I’m trying to rig up a similar system for my solo kit using a 3 1/2″ diameter snow peak pot and the same 3oz can of cat food that is by my measurements 2 3/8″ in diameter, but I’m getting flames licking so far up the side I can’t get the lid on and off. The logical answer is that my cat food can is too big, but I was wondering if I was doing something else wrong since everyone else seems to be able to get it to work…

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Lynn,

      For my Heine set-up the stove is 2-5/8″ in diameter and the base of the Heine pot is 3-1/4″ in diameter. The stove is an open flame alcohol stove though, not a Super cat. It does not have any holes in the sides. I simply pour the fuel inside the can and light it. Without the holes in the side, the flame is concentrated upwards rather than out, which keeps the flame under the can rather than licking up the sides.

      Hope this helps.

      ~Stick~

      Like

    • Stick says:

      Jake,

      I actually have a silicone band around the pot now, and the 1.2 oz weight is including the can and the band. But, I wouldn’t mind trying some that are maybe a little wider. I actually just received an order from Trail Designs (got a new cook pot!)…

      ~Stick~

      Like

  5. David Byrge says:

    Hey Stick! Good job on the Heine pot cooking setup. I’ve been playing around with this type of setup for awhile now also and find it really fun to mess with. Like you, i’m not sure if it will replace my current setup, but it’s still enjoyable to mess with and try different things. Definitely try some drywall tape around the center of the heine pot, it works really well and after a few days the stickiness wears off the outside of the tape. My pot with the drywall tape is 1.7 oz (includes a small dowel rod that’s screwed into the top to be used as a handle), so it will add a little more weight but its worth it.

    I’ve made a supercat in the past, but really never thought of just letting it be an open burner. I’ll have to give that a try! Also liked the way you put the windscreen together with the tent stakes. Seems like that would make a nice and stable platform.

    Like

    • Stick says:

      David,

      Thanks for the tip. I will look into that tape. I was debating getting some of the fiberglass wick to wrap around it too. I wouldn’t mind having some of that on hand anyway for when I try to make other stoves.

      ~Stick~

      Like

  6. Alan says:

    I like it. Good job. I wish we could get those Heinekin cans in the UK.

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Alan,

      It is about to the point where it will be hard to get them from anywhere now…bummer cause they seem to be pretty nice.

      ~Stick~

      Like

  7. Jake Willits says:

    Great Post! I’m really starting to like the way you do things. I (also) had no idea that this type of can is hard to find. Where do I look?

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Thanks Jake for stopping by and commenting. As far as finding the cans, it seems like some areas still have some more so than other areas. I looked all over the town I live in and found none. My family and I drove to Memphis TN this past weekend and I happened to find one in a convenient store. I have looked at quite a few gas stations and grocery stores as well with no luck. I noticed some that were already made for sale on ebay. I think I am going to email Heineken as well jsut to see if they have any more that I can get. It would be nice if they could send me some that they haven’t put a lid on yet…

      ~Stick~

      Like

    • George Carr says:

      Good luck with Heinekin ;-). They sued Tinny for showing the image of their can made into a cookpot, and have frowned on the UL hiking communities use of their cans for cookpots. I tried to buy empty cans from the manufacturer a couple of years ago and was told Heineken wouldn’t go for it.

      Like

    • Stick says:

      George,

      Wow, I did not know that…thanks for the heads up. At least I won’t waste my time with asking them now. So, did they really win that suit?

      ~Stick~

      Like

Leave Your Comment Here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.