First Look at the Yama Mountain Gear Cirriform SW Tent

It’s finally here! (Not that I really had to wait too long…)

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago I place a preorder for the new Yama Mountain Gear Cirriform SW Tent, and today it showed up on my doorstep! Now, I was actually supposed to be packing for a hike this weekend, but when the mail lady knocked on my door, I knew that I was going to have to take a minute, open it, set it up and check it out… Plus, I figured if I was going through all of that trouble, I may as well go ahead and do some video to show it to the rest of you!

So, this is Gen’s newest addition to the Yama Mountain Gear’s site. This is a fully enclosed shelter, which uses a 0.8 oz/sqyd cuben fiber on the canopy, and 30D silnylon on the floor. I liked this idea since as I understand it, cuben fiber has a low tolerance to abrasion, however, I have never had any issues with any of my cuben fiber. Either way though, I liked the idea of using silnylon as the floor.  Also, this tent is based on the A-Frame set-up, which I am also just fine with. I don’t mind crawling in and out of the front of the tent, and find that they have plenty of interior room for my needs. Not to mention, it is easy enough to set up.

Anyway, I don’t have time to get into a lot of details right now, and this post and video is not about that, but instead, just simply showing off my new, awesome tent! I did climb inside the tent and there is plenty of room. Even with my large size NeoAir XLite, there is plenty of room, but I will say, I forgot how slippery silnylon floors can be…

Anyway, I gotta go and finish packing for my trip this weekend, so I hope that you enjoy the video.

Thanks for stopping by,

~Stick~

Disclaimer: I paid the full price for this tent with my own money, and have no affiliation with Yama Mountain Gear (other than I just bought this tent). 

About Stick

My blog is essentially a record of my hiking career. Through it, I, and others, can see how I have evolved from a heavy weight backpacker, to a smarter, more efficient, lightweight backpacker. Through the use of video, still photos, and of course writing, one can see my progression, as well as check out some of the places I hike, and not to mention some cool, lightweight gear options. For me, my blog is a journal, but for others, I hope that it is an interactive learning tool to aid them in their own progression towards lightweight backpacking.
This entry was posted in Tent and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to First Look at the Yama Mountain Gear Cirriform SW Tent

  1. Sidewinder says:

    Stick, thanks for the review. I’ve read both your review of the Cirriform and the Skyscape X. debating which to get. I use Pacer Poles and was wondering if they would work with the YMG Cirriform? Also, which do you feel is more storm worthy? looking forward to hearing more about this tent and your adventures.

    S.

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Sidewinder,

      I am not familiar with the Pacer Poles, so I can’t really answer that question. I know that Tony Hobbs uses Pacer Poles though, and it seems like he has successfully used them with each of his MLD shelters… Maybe you could contact him and ask him.

      Hope this helps some.

      ~Stick~

      Like

    • Michael Lee says:

      Hey Stick,

      I sent one of my Pacer Poles to Gen at Yama Mountail Gear, he says the pole should work fine. Just wanted to let you know in case someone else had a similar question.

      S.

      Like

    • Stick says:

      Thanks Michael for the heads up, and glad to hear that it will work for you!

      ~Stick~

      Like

  2. AlanR says:

    I like the look of that too. I think it may actually suit UK conditions with the high sides in silnylon. It will be interesting to see how you go on with condensation. Run off looks like it will handle ok but it might drip towards the foot. I think i would also prefer a guy positioned around mid way up the sides to be a bit more wind resistant. Anyway great first look. Thanks and look forward to the review after use.

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Alan,

      I am definitely looking forward to using this tent. I will take it out with me on a 3 day hike early next month. Until then, I will just have to play with it in the yard… 🙂

      ~Stick~

      Like

  3. Steve says:

    Hey Stick,
    Great video as always. I am anxious to hear the trip report on the tent especially if it rains which for your sake I hope it does not. Is it necessary to use a footprint or do you plan on using one with this tent? You should try and slow down when setting up a tent…just kidding. I hope your trip is safe.

    Steve

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Thanks Steve, glad you enjoyed the video! As far as the footprint, I doubt I will carry one, but if I do it will be a small piece of polycro. I am looking forward to carrying the tent with me on a hike early next month.

      ~Stick~

      Like

  4. When are you planning to do the Wonderland? I’m shooting for mid-September.

    Like

  5. Linda says:

    Yes, I too am looking forward to your review after your Wonderland trip. It’s an interesting tent. I like height at the foot end. So many tents I have had were too low, not giving me much foot room.

    Like

    • Stick says:

      I agree Linda, this tent reminds me a lot of the Contrail, but with a taller end, which really does open up a lot of space… Anyway, I will be taking it out for it’s first trip early next month…

      ~Stick~

      Like

  6. Don Milligan says:

    Chad, Beautiful shelter! and as always excellent Un-boxing and setup video. I am looking forward to your Wonderland trail trip to see the performance of this shelter.
    Is it just me, but I think the Yama amber colored logo on the demo shelters is really cool, if I get one I want the logo on it.

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Thanks Don, and I agree, I like the shelter! And I am also really looking forward to the WT hike… I am crossing my fingers for my itinerary… As far as the logo, it is not available on the shelters.

      ~Stick~

      Like

  7. will trencher says:

    I was wondering mate,if u had to choose between the hexamid solo or your new yama,which would u keep?i think i will get one or the other.cant afford both!
    Regards from australia,
    Wil

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Will,

      To be honest, I actually sold my Hexamid to help fund this one. But don’t get me wrong, the Hexamid is a great tent and I will still suggest it to others. But for me, the new Yama tent offered alot of things that I like in a tent, so I went for it. So far, it is a pretty cool tent, but I have not spent more than about 30 minutes with it… I will get it out on the trail next month…

      ~Stick~

      Like

  8. Bobby says:

    Ive been a car camper for some time now and have been watching your blog and getting all the knowledge i can and plan on my first backpacking trip in a few months. I’m so excited and cant wait.. Awesome tent..

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Bobby,

      Thanks for your support, I appreciate it! And that is cool that your first backpacking trip is on its way! I remember my first trip… I had a super heavy pack, but I enjoyed it! Anyway, if you have any questions, or anything that I can help you with, feel free to let me know…

      ~Stick~

      Like

  9. Loneoak says:

    First impression is it looks great, will be watching for a trip report.

    Like

    • Stick says:

      Thanks Jim! My first trip with it will be the first of April… but at this point, I am planning to use this tent for my Wonderland Trail thru hike later this year… It looks promising! 🙂

      ~Stick~

      Like

Leave Your Comment Here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.